ⓘ Local Government Act 1972. The Local Government Act 1972 is an Act of Parliament in the United Kingdom, that reformed local government in England and Wales, on ..

Local Government Act 1972

ⓘ Local Government Act 1972

The Local Government Act 1972 is an Act of Parliament in the United Kingdom, that reformed local government in England and Wales, on 1 April 1974.

Its pattern of two-tier councils remains in use today in large parts of England, although the metropolitan county councils were abolished in 1986 and it was replaced with unitary authorities in many areas in the 1990s. In Wales, it established a similar pattern of counties and districts. These have since been entirely replaced with a system of unitary authorities. In Scotland, the Local Government Scotland Act 1973 established a similar system of two-tier regions and districts in 1975 – this was also replaced by a system of unitary council areas in 1996.

Elections were held to the new authorities in 1973, and they acted as shadow authorities until the handover date. Elections to county councils were held on April 12, for metropolitan and Welsh districts on May 10 for non-metropolitan district councils on June 7.


1.1. England Non-metropolitan districts

The Local Government Boundary Commission originally proposed 278 non-metropolitan districts in April 1972 still working with the county boundaries found in the Bill. A further eighteen districts were added in the final proposals of November 1972, which were then ordered.

The splits were as follows in most cases the splits were not exact, and many other changes to the borders of the districts took place at this time

  • Isle of Wight: South Wight/Medina
  • Durham: Wear Valley/Teesdale
  • Northamptonshire: Daventry/South Northamptonshire
  • Northumberland: Berwick-upon-Tweed/Alnwick
  • Leicestershire: Rutland/Melton, Harborough/Oadby and Wigston
  • Lancashire: Hyndburn/Rossendale
  • Lincolnshire: Boston/South Holland
  • Dorset: Weymouth and Portland/Purbeck, North Dorset/East Dorset
  • Humberside: Holderness/North Wolds
  • Devon: Torridge/North Devon
  • Shropshire: Oswestry/North Shropshire, Bridgnorth/South Shropshire
  • Hereford and Worcester: Hereford/South Herefordshire/Leominster
  • Somerset: Taunton Deane/West Somerset
  • Suffolk: Forest Heath

The new district in Suffolk was necessitated by the decision to keep Newmarket in Suffolk; which would otherwise have become part of the South Cambridgeshire district.


1.2. England Isles of Scilly

Section 265 af the Act allowed for the continuation of the local government arrangements for the Isles of Scilly. The Isles of Scilly Rural District Council became the Council of the Isles of Scilly, and certain services were to continue to be provided by Cornwall County Council as provided by order in council made by the Secretary of State, although the Isles were not technically in Cornwall before or after 1974.


2. Elections

Elections were held to the new authorities on three different Thursdays in 1973. Each new county and district was divided into electoral divisions. For county councils, each electoral division elected one member; for metropolitan district councils, each ward elected three members; and wards in non-metropolitan districts could elect a varying number of members. There was not sufficient time to conduct a full warding arrangement so a temporary system was used: in some county councils electoral divisions elected multiple councillors.

  • the metropolitan counties that had been set up in 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972 along with the Greater London Council that had been established
  • 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972 and in 2001 covered an area of 155, 205 hectares. South Yorkshire is divided into four local government districts
  • Unlike many of the changes made by the Local Government Act 1972 the new counties are popular with the local people. This short article about the United
  • and Carnforth. The district was made on April 1 1974, under the Local Government Act 1972 when the boroughs of Lancaster and Morecambe and Heysham, along
  • The current metropolitan boroughs were created in 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972 as subdivisions of the new metropolitan counties which were created
  • when all local government in England and Wales was changed by the Local Government Act 1972 This was when four different local government districts
  • local government purposes into thirty - seven districts. Districts were the second tier of local government introduced by the Local Government Act 1972
  • 1872 Highway Board 1874 Asylums Board 1888 Government Property Trustees 1891 and Local Government Board 1894 However, although direct taxation
  • district, no actual parish councils were abolished In 1974 the Local Government Act 1972 retained civil parishes in rural areas and small urban areas
  • Devolution is when a central government transfers powers to a local government It is sometimes called Home Rule or decentralisation. In the United Kingdom
  • Municipal Corporations Act 1835. It stayed a borough in the West Riding of Yorkshire until 1974. Under the Local Government Act 1972 it became a parish in